fbpx The Azores Islands: Get to Know Them All! | Azores.com
Never leave your Azores state of mind
Travel deals, tips.

About The 9 Azores Islands

Consisting of nine islands, the Azores are divided into three groups: the eastern (Sao Miguel and Santa Maria islands), the central (Terceira, Graciosa, Sao JorgePico and Faial islands), and the western (Flores and Corvo islands). Apart from international airports of Santa Maria, Ponta Delgada and Angra do Heroismo, there are flights to the islands (operated by the regional airline TAP Air Portugal) and ferry boats between the islands.

Even the blase visitor will be touched by the sapphire blue and emerald green lakes, fertile prairies, volcanic cones and craters, colorful hydrangeas and azaleas, 15th century churches, and majestic manor houses. This legendary archipelago, consisting of nine poetically-named islands, enjoys year-round mild temperatures (between 14°C and 22°C–57°F and 71°F) and is a peaceful shelter with a population of 250,000 inhabitants, for whom the words “stress” and “pollution” are unknown.

There are many stories to tell of the archipelago’s beauty, of fishermen or shepherds, but among them there is one which was told by a holidaymaker. As a foreign couple was silently looking at the Caldeira das Sete Cidades when they were interrupted by their six-year-old son, who asked them: “Is this God’s home?”

Santa Maria Island

Santa Maria island offers excellent water sports facilities. Special mention to: Praia, Santo Espirito, São Lourenco, Sao Pedro and Vila do Porto, a village with superb manor houses, mother-church and Nossa Senhora dos Anjos Chapel, where Columbus’ crew stopped and prayed on their way to discover America.

Click here for more information on Santa Maria island

São Miguel Island

São Miguel is the largest of all islands. In the capital, Ponta Delgada, the famous 18th century landmark, “Portas da Cidade”, open up to a number of monuments that are worth visiting, most of them built between the 16th and the 18th century: Carlos Machado Museum and churches of São Sebastiao, São Pedro, São Jose, Colegio and Nossa Senhora da Conceicao, convent and chapel of Nossa Senhora da Esperanca and Santa Ana Chapel. Palaces: Fonte Bela and Santa Ana; Conceicao and Santa Catarina; Casa de Carlos Bicudo and the Pacos do Concelho. Other places to visit: Caldeira das Sete Cidades (green and blue lakes), Lagoa do Fogo, Ribeira Grande, Vale das Furnas (spas and hot mineral pools), and Vila Franca do Campo.

Click here for more information on São Miguel island

Terceira Island

The historic center of its capital, Angra do Heroismo, has been classified in UNESCO’s International Heritage list. Special reference to the forts of São Sebastiao and Sao Joao Baptista (16th-17th-centuries); the palaces of the Bettencourts (Baroque) and of the Capitães-Generais; the Cathedral, with its silver altar front and treasure; the churches of Colegio dos Jesuitas, São Goncalo and Nossa Senhora da Conceicao (17th-century); and the churches of Misericordia and Nossa Senhora da Guia (18th-century, the latter encloses the Angra Museum). Other points of interest: Praia da Vitoria, Santa Barbara, São Sebastiao, and Vila Nova.

Click here for more information on Terceira island

Graciosa Island

In Santa Cruz da Graciosa you will find ancient streets and manor-houses, a beautiful mother-church (16th-18th centuries), Santo Cristo Church (16th century), Cruz da Barra (Manueline), and Ethnographic House. In the Furna do Enxofre, dazzling sights and a vaulted cave over an underground lake (between 11am and 2pm the sunlight filters in). You must also visit Guadalupe and its Baroque church, Luz and Praia (typical windmills).

Click here for more information on Graciosa island

Faial Island

In Horta, a famous yacht harbor, look at the beautiful tiles and gilded carvings in the 17th and 18th century churches of Sao Salvador, Nossa Senhora do Carmo and Sao Francisco. To visit: Sacred Art Museum, Nossa Senhora das Angústias Church, Nossa Senhora do Pilar Chapel, Imperio dos Nobres and Porto Pim fortifications, Caldeira Natural Reserve, Capelinhos, grottoes and caves in Costa da Feteira and Monte da Guia belvedere.

Click here for more information on Faial island

Pico Island

Pico owes its name to a 7713 ft high volcanic cone. Special reference to São Roque do Pico, with its 18th century churches of Sao Roque and Sao Pedro de Alcântara, Lajes do Pico with its Whale Museum, Madalena with its Wine Museum and 17th-century church, and Areia Larga with its beautiful winery manor houses. Other places: Calheta de Nesquim, Candelaria, Criacao Velha, Piedade (forest preserve), Prainha do Norte, Santa Luzia, Santo Amaro, São Caetano, São Joao and São Mateus.

Click here for more information on Pico island

São Jorge Island

Velas, with its fishing port, is the main town. One can admire its manor houses, the churches of São Jorge (17th century), and Nossa Senhora da Conceicao, Town Hall (Azorian Baroque) and 18th century walls. Do not miss Calheta, Manadas, Ribeira Seca, Topo and Urzelina.

Click here for more information on São Jorge island

Flores Island

In Santa Cruz das Flores, you will find manors, the churches of Sao Boaventura (Baroque) and Nossa Senhora da Conceicao (19th century), and the Ethnographic Museum. Trips to Ribeira Grande Waterfall, to the Gruta dos Enxareus (by boat), and to Lagoas (seven lakes surrounded by flowers).

Click here for more information on Flores island

Corvo Island

The smallest island of all and a peaceful sanctuary. In Vila Nova do Corvo, narrow cobblestone streets and the Church of Nossa Senhora dos Milagres. In Caldeirao (enormous volcanic crater),there are two lakes with nine small islands, just like the archipelago.

Click here for more information on Corvo island

The Azores Regional Gastronomy

  • Cozido das furnas (stew made in the hot springs)
  • Rumpsteaks
  • Octopus stewed in wine
  • Barnacles and limpets
  • Cheeses
  • Wines: Vinho de cheiro, verdelho and liqueurs

The Azores Regional Handicrafts

  • Wicker baskets and furniture
  • Miniatures in fig tree pith
  • Embroideries and lace
  • Blankets and bedspreads
  • Artificial flowers made with fish scales
  • Blue and white ceramics